• Home

Take Action! Enhance Your Business with Music and the Arts

Calling all hospitality establishments and cultural centers! The San Francisco Board of Supervisors is considering legislation that will provide restaurants, cafes, bars, and art galleries a cost-effective and streamlined way of providing legal live music and arts in their establishment, without going through the expensive and time consuming Place of Entertainment process (POE). The Board’s Land Use Committee will hear testimony and vote on Monday, July 25, 2011 at 1p. Contact City Hall today and let them know that you support this legislation with the inclusion of DJs and the Western SOMA district.

Here’s how you can help. Take action today!

1)      Email the Board (particularly Supervisor Jane Kim – D6) today, encouraging them to support this legislation with the inclusion of DJs and the Western SOMA district. If you are an artist or business owner, make your voice heard. City decision makers need to hear from you! Just cut and paste the emails below with “Support LLP with DJs and SOMA” in the subject line.

Ross.Mirkarimi@sfgov.org; David.Chiu@sfgov.org; Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org; Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org; Carmen.Chu@sfgov.org; Jane.Kim@sfgov.org; Sean.Elsbernd@sfgov.org; Scott.Wiener@sfgov.org; David.Campos@sfgov.org; Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org; John.Avalos@sfgov.org; MayorEdwinLee@sfgov.org; Jocelyn.Kane@sfgov.org; Regina.Dick-Endrizzi@sfgov.org; government@cmacsf.org

2) Attend the Land Use hearing next Monday. We need to show up and speak up. Attendance was sparse at last Monday’s meeting. We can shift the discussion if we turn out, share our personal stories and reasons for offering this opportunity city-wide versus on a piece-meal basis and to include all types of musicians – both traditional and the next generation. Please email government@cmacsf.org if you plan to attend. We are keeping a running tally. Let’s showcase the diverse make-up of our city’s hospitality community.

Email us for more information at government@cmacsf.org

More Articles...

 
california music and culture association